Map of Designated Areas

The French Language Services Act guarantees the right to services in French from the provincial government in government offices in designated areas of the province.

There are currently 26 designated areas under the FLSA. For an area to obtain designation, technically, Francophones must make up at least 10% of its population; urban centres must have at least 5000 Francophones.

  • The whole area is designated under the FLSA
  • Only a portion of the area is designated
  • Non-designated areas


  1. City of Toronto (All)

  2. City of Hamilton (All of the City of Hamilton as it exists on Dec. 31, 2000)

  3. Regional Municipality of Niagara: Cities of: Port Colborne and Welland

  4. City of Ottawa (All)

  5. Regional Municipality of Peel: City of Mississauga, City of Brampton

  6. City of Greater Sudbury (All)

  7. County of Dundas: Township of Winchester

  8. County of Essex: City of Windsor, Towns of Belle River and Tecumseh; Townships of: Anderdon, Colchester North, Maidstone, Sandwich South, Sandwich West, Tilbury North, Tilbury West and Rochester

  9. County of Glengarry (All)

  10. County of Kent: Town of Tilbury, Townships of Dover and Tilbury East

  11. County of Prescott (All)

  12. County of Renfrew: City of Pembroke, Townships of:Stafford and Westmeath

  13. County of Russell (All)

  14. County of Simcoe: Town of Penetanguishene, Townships of: Tiny and Essa

  15. County of Stormont (All)

  16. District of Algoma (All)

  17. District of Cochrane (All)

  18. District of Kenora: Township of Ignace

  19. District of Nipissing (All)

  20. District of Sudbury (All)

  21. District of Thunder Bay: Towns of Geraldton, Longlac and Marathon, Townships of Manitouwadge, Beardmore, Nakina & Terrace Bay

  22. District of Timiskaming (All)

  23. County of Middlesex: City of London

  24. District of Parry Sound: Municipality of Callander

  25. County of Frontenac: City of Kingston

  26. Regional Municipality of York : City of Markham