Local Health Integration Network
Text size:

Action Plan button

Residents First web button

eHealth Ontario

Your Health Care Options

Health Care Connect

Patient Safety

Wait Times In Ontario

telehealth button

Be a Donor logo ENG

2013 Emergency Preparedness Week - Seniors

Board of Directors

Joy Warkentin 2010

Chair - L. Joy Warkentin (Thunder Bay)
Joy Warkentin was educated as a registered nurse and holds a Master of Education in Curriculum.  She served as  Chair of Health Sciences, and then Associate Dean, Academic at Confederation College prior to moving to Fanshawe College in London, Ontario.

Joy served as Fanshawe’s Senior Vice-President Academic Services from 2000-2009 when she retired. She was awarded an honorary degree from Fanshawe in 2008 for her contribution to applied education and to the College. She was the 2009 recipient of the fifth annual Minister’s Lifetime Achievement Award from the Minister of Training, Colleges and Universities. The YMCA of Western Ontario honoured her with a 2009 Women of Excellence Award in the category of education, training and development. In May, the Fanshawe College Board of Governors named Warkentin the College’s first Vice-President Emeritus in recognition of her 40 years of service to Ontario college system and to Fanshawe College.

In addition, Joy has been an active community volunteer serving as Chair of the Thunder Bay District Health Council and on the Boards of the Children’s Aid Society of London Middlesex, the South West Community Care Access Centre, the AIDS Committee of London and the Premier's Council on Health, Wellness and Social Justice. She presently serves as the Chair of the Board of the Ontario College Quality Assurance Service.


Member - Tina Copenace (Kenora)
Tina Copenace is a member from Ochiichagwe’Babigo’Ining First Nation from the Kenora area. Presently, Tina is with the National Defense of Canada working with Inuit, Metis, and Aboriginal people in the regional program. She is completing her final year in the Indigenous Master of Social Worker program with Wilfred Laurier University. Tina has a background in Indigenous studies and has worked for various social services organizations in her career. She has served on various boards/committee;  Amikkowiish Housing, Child Find Canada, Thomas Aquinas High School Parent Council, Triple Play and many grassroots First Nation committees in Ontario. She is past President of Four Directions Toastmasters & past Area Governor for Toastmasters International Area 22.

Dennis Gushulak

Member - Dennis Gushulak (Ear Falls)
A retired elementary teacher and Vice-Principal, Dennis Gushulak continues to work as an Occasional Teacher with the Keewatin-Patricia District School Board. Dennis is a graduate from Lakehead Teachers’ College and Lakehead University with a Bachelor of Arts and Bachelor of Education Degree.

Dennis is a long-time resident of Ear Falls and has had many years of involvement in the fields of education and health care. His previous community involvement includes being a member and Board Chair of the Red Lake Margaret Cochenour Memorial Hospital, Director and Board Chair of the Ear Falls Community Health Centre, Steering Committee Member for the organization of the Ear Falls Family Health Team, an elected Trustee Member of the Ontario Hospital Association’s (OHA) Regional Council Executive Committee, and an appointed Trustee Member of the OHA’s Small, Rural and Northern Executive Leadership Council Committee.

Currently, Mr. Gushulak is a director and treasurer of the Ear Falls Chukuni Christmas Cheer Board, treasurer of the Local Unit of the Occasional Elementary Teachers, and President of the Red Lake Unit of The Retired Teachers of Ontario. He is also presently appointed to the Retired Teachers of Ontario Provincial Member Services Committee.

Dan Levesque

Member - Dan Levesque (Greenstone)
Dan Levesque, a former Ontario Provincial Police officer, retired as a Staff Sergeant with the Greenstone OPP detachment last year. During his 31 years of police service, he helped plan and design the Greenstone detachment, which opened in 2008. He also specialized in mediation and crisis intervention. He has firsthand knowledge of the socioeconomic challenges affecting the residents of Northwestern Ontario, including First Nation communities. Mr. Levesque is currently Board Chair of the Greenstone Victim Services and a Board member of the Superior-Greenstone Association for Community Living.


Cathy Farrell

Member - Cathy Farrell  (Thunder Bay)
Ms. Farrell’s extensive professional experience spans a variety of settings related to child welfare and developmental services. She is a registered social worker and currently operates North of Superior Adoption Services in addition to consulting with Thunder Bay Family Network. She also serves as Vice-President of Branch Affairs with the Ontario Association of Social Workers.

Prior to these roles, she was the founding Executive Director of Wesway, a respite care organization supporting families and caregivers in their own homes. Her other work experience includes managing Children’s Clinical Services and the Fair Start program at Thunder Bay District Health Unit. Ms. Farrell also served as Resource Consultant with Choices, an innovative pilot project for adults with developmental disabilities in Thunder Bay.

Ms. Farrell brings a strong background of community involvement to the North West LHIN Board. She has been actively engaged in leadership roles with numerous community organizations and boards, including Communities Together for Children, Lakehead Association for Community Living, Residential Placement Advisory Committees, school councils and community groups to improve quality of life for citizens.